Autumn versus Ben & Jerry

I may have mentioned my love affair with 2 men, Ben & Jerry. I wrote them a note earlier this year.

April 27, 2015

While this is not something one should necessarily post on FB, I feel as though I must come clean.

Certain relationships have grown increasingly detrimental to my physical and mental health. Friends are to be there for you through the thick and thin. While you have been there for me through the thick of it, this relationship is unhealthy. I don’t appreciate the late night calling and the feelings of guilt I experience the next day. I have been spending too much time with you.

I am not without blame. I turn to you way too often…to help me feel better when I am down, and yet I come to you celebrate the good. I feel as though I am cheating on my husband, my family and most of all myself. Maybe someday we will reunite when I am in a better position to handle such a relationship.

It is with this I say, “Good-bye, Ben. Good-bye, Jerry.”

Sadly, I clung on to the relationship by every last spoon and pint, until about 2 weeks ago when Dana, my childhood friend, introduced me to Autumn.

Autumn seemed genuine. She asked for 21 Days to Fix my problem. If I had the strength to walk away from my threesome, follow the rainbow (aka, use containers) and listen to her whisper sweet nothings in my ear for 30-min each day, she would take me to the promised land of Six Pack.

Perhaps you have been there? I lived there in my late teens and early twenties. I visited Six Pack again 2 years ago for about 6-mos and would love to go back. However, it is a long road to travel coming from where I am, so I got excited about visiting the other destinations along the way. These places include the countries of Healthy and Happy, the island of Less Moody and, let’s not forget, one of my favorite places, Sleepy Land. I wanted to give Autumn a chance to rid me of my bad habits and take me on a necessary, but fun, journey.

For the past 15 days, during my daily 5:30a workout, Autumn calls to me in the same way that my ole’ buddies Ben & Jerry did. “Work those arms! Keep those arms moving! Get’em up!” Of course, she is not referring to the spoon and ice cream. And, she is literally calling to me (ok, through the computer). Her voice is louder and ironically holds more weight than that of the big guys from VT.

I have reached the first few destinations in a short two weeks. I feel the presence of Healthy and Happy. Dan is regularly acknowledging my visits to Less Moody and, even with menopause trying to reroute me from Sleepy Land, I am still making it there more often than I have in months. Autumn weighs heavy on my mind as she helps me lighten my load, figuratively and literally. She may be little, but she is STRONG and packs a heavy punch!

Score in the last 2 weeks: Autumn = 15    Ben & Jerry = 0

Disclaimer: I do not work for BeachBody, nor am I trying to convince anyone of anything other than to be the healthiest and happiest you.

 

Leave a Reply

