I’m Still Standing (Kinda)

Hi, friends. It’s been a while. I had anticipated writing every day, but life gets in the way. However, without life, there would be. . . nothing.

These days, my personal life seems to be focused on ADHD and Sensory Processing Disorder (SPD).

Five to 10yrs BC, before-children, I heard parents claiming their child had ADHD because their child didn’t listen to them and wouldn’t sit still through school. My impression was these parents took their child to the pediatrician and BAM…medicated. I thought it was a bit odd since I was a “bad” child that didn’t always listen to my parents, but I didn’t have ADHD, I was just disrespectful (Sorry, Mom and Dad. Don’t worry, though, because paybacks are hell). Therefore, I had this impression people were medicating kids into compliance. Heck, my dear husband once told my brother-in-law and sister-in-law prior to our marriage and children, “If you want your kids to do something, just tell them and they will do it.” (Ask him how that’s working for us now).

Since having children, it seems that so many children have ADHD and SPD, mine included with their “official” medical and school diagnoses. Like many other parents, we are trying to avoid medicating. We are not against it, however if we can avoid it, we would like to do so, which means researching the alternatives. I don’t claim to understand many of the symptoms and aspects of ADHD and SPD, so I have been reading as much as I can in an attempt to assist my kids and preserve my sanity. (My daughter literally hums and bounces when she is trying to sit still. Imagine what she’s like when she is hyper? My son impulsively hits and kicks. Who wants to come over for a play date?) One of the theories for the rise in ADHD diagnoses has to do with the limited amount of recess and free play children receive in school and the amount of time the educational system expects children to sit still during the day.

I just read an article from Time, a re-post from 2014 on sitting entitled, “Is Sitting Killing Me?” Sitting on GaiamI couldn’t believe what I had read. Who knew how bad sitting really is for our health? I, for one, did not realize the implications of sitting all day. I learned that our risk of certain cancers increases, our ability to process food is slowed, but by standing at a job you can burn 500 – 1,000 calories a day.

(Yep, here I sit typing – although I do use a exercise ball, so that kinda counts, right? )

One section, in particular, held my attention. A “School of the Future” concept was being tested, which allowed children to stand and move.

After two months, the teachers reported that the students took fewer bathroom breaks, engaged in less frivolous movement, and related better to each other. Parents also noticed a difference. They said, almost unbelievable, that their children came home more eager to do homework and less stressed after their day. . . The children doubled their activity level compared to when they were in a traditional classroom. Finally, the pioneering students scored up to 20% higher on state standardized tests than they had previously.

I am curious if you use a standing desk, an exercise ball, a treadmill desk and/or if the school your child attends has implemented any of these tools? I am especially curious for those with children diagnosed with ADHD and SPD.

Now, I am going to take a quick stroll around the office and figure out what stuff we have laying around that I can make a standing desk.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. snowdiva11 says:

    The concept of stand up desks, to me, is fascinating. As you mentioned, it’seems great for adults (and few places I’ve worked at accommodated employees who requested them).

    As for children, the stand up desks have been incredibly successful, but apparently are “expensive” to implement. Obviously most U.S. schools are already working on bare bones budgets, but there’s always hope that corporation sponsorships or in-kind support could help. In my mind, it seems it’s going to be the parents and schools who raise awareness for the need to implement. Saw a great CNN review recently about them recently and became a huge fan of the swing bars. I have no doubt Elli could be an even better student if she could ‘get the wigglies out’ and focus better 😊.

    Like

  2. alisonrana says:

    Hussman Elementary in Crystal Lake just had a write up in the Northwest Herald (I think?) about a first grade teacher that converted her entire classroom to this type…several different kinds of work stations with unconventional seating that allowed the kids to move around while working. She had to apply for grants and get donations to do it, but how fantastic that she is being so forward thinking about it! I think it is a fabulous thing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

